

# **General Assembly 2020 Minutes**

The General Assembly (GA) of the ECSPM, based on the attached Agenda sent to the members of the GA prior to the online meeting on 9 December 2020 had quorum. The discussion of the issues below lasted from 9:30 to 10:45.

## 1. Approval of new membership

Before the President of ECSPM Professor Emerita Bessie Dendrinos (Vasiliki Dendrinou as she is identified on official Greek papers) asked the GA to approve membership of the institutions below, a representative of each institution that had applied to become a member of the <a href="CURUM constituency">CURUM constituency</a> of the ECSPM, presented the profile of their research centre and their most recent research activities (most of which are included in the <a href="CURUM Booklet">CURUM Booklet</a> that had been made available to all members prior to the 2020 symposium). The representatives who spoke are the following:

- Professor Piet Van Avermaet, Director of the Centre for Diversity & Learning, Ghent University, BE
- Associate Professor Bessie (Vasiliki) Mitsikopoulou, member of the scientific committee of the Centre of Excellence for Multilingualism and Language Policy, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, GR
- Professor Irene Tsamadou-Jacoberger, Centre for Research in Greek, Slavic and oriental Studies, Université de Strasbourg, FR.
- Professor Tanja Rinker, Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, DE
- Professor Andrea Young, linguistique, langue, parole, Universit
  è de Strasbourg, FR
- Professor Luisa Marín-Rojo, Centre on Multilingualism, Discource and Communication, The Autonomous University of Madrid, ES
- Dr. Jonathan Morris, Multilingualism Research Network, University of Cardiff, UK

Following the presentations, the GA unanimously voted in favour of the institutions below joining the ECSPM:

- CDL (Centre for Diversity & Learning), Ghent University, BE
- CEM (Centre of Excellence for Multilingualism and Language Policy) University of Athens, GR
- GEO (Groupe d'Études orientales, slaves et néo-helléniques / Centre for Research in Greek, Slavic, and Oriental Studies), Université de Strasbourg, FR
- GS/FL (Research Group), Katolische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, DE
- LiLPa (linguistique, langue, parole), Université de Strasbourg, FR
- MIRCo (Center of Multilingualism, Discourse and Communication), Autonomous University of Madrid, ES
- MRN (Multilingualism Research Network), University of Cardiff, UK

## 2. Plans for the 2021 ECSPM Symposium

The President informed the GA that the Director of the Centre for Multilingualism of the University of Konstanz, in Germany, which is already a member of the CURUM constituency of the ECSPM, has offered to host the 2021 symposium. This piece of information was received with great enthusiasm and the venue was unanimously approved by the members of the GA.

The next point discussed was related to the date that the symposium would take place. While the GA agreed for the event to be carried out in June, and thus linked to the International Multilingualism Conference also being organised by the University of Konstanz, the exact dates were not finalised. The exact dates are to be discussed during the ensuing CURUM meeting to take place online on January 26<sup>th</sup> from 15:00 till 17:00.

The proposed theme of the symposium proposed is "Multilingualism in Higher Education in Europe" and the GA approved of the topic given the growing discontent with HE's monolingualism. However, it was decided that details related to the content need to be specified and these are to be discussed during the ensuing CURUM meeting.

#### 3. ECSPM Executive Committee

It was unanimously decided that the same members continue to serve on the Executive Committee for the year 2021-2022.

- Bessie Dendrinos (Vasiliki Dendrinou) as president
- Cor van der Meer, Johan Van Hoorde, Terry Lamb, Alexandra Büchler as members
- Gudrun Gisladottir as General Secretary.

No changes will be made to the way the ECSPM functions now and how it might function in the future in terms of administration.

### 4. Representation on the ELE project

It was decided that the members below with whom ECSPM will work with in a collaborative fashion, for the European Language Equality project in which the ECSPM has secured partnership, will name the people with whom the ECSPM will work.

- FUEN
- NPLD

## 5. Membership fees

The General Secretary Gudrun Gisladottir, presented to the GA a detailed account of incoming and outgoing expenses and the budget was approved unanimously

It was unanimously decided that there would be no changes to the membership fees, given the difficult situation most societies are going through because of the pandemic.

**ECSPM General Secretary** 

**ECSPM President** 

Gudrun Gisladottir

Bessie Dendrinos (Vasiliki Dendrinou)